Hit and Run Accident Lawyer

When a driver causes an accident, it is their responsibility to pull over and exchange information with the other driver. Unfortunately, it doesn’t always work this way. Many drivers know they were acting illegally, and rather than facing up to their responsibilities, they drive away without a second look. This makes it difficult for victims to get the compensation they deserve.

Free Case Review

If you were involved in a Florida hit and run and you are trying to get coverage for your damages, it’s important to have a good lawyer on your side. Moe DeWitt will see to it that justice is served.

Common Causes of Hit and Runs

There are many reasons why drivers don’t want to pull over after getting into an accident. They may be driving without insurance or they may be driving without a license. They may be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or maybe they know that accident was their fault and they just don’t want to deal with it.

Whatever the reason may be, it is the driver’s responsibility to pull over, get out, and give their insurance information to the other driver. Failing to do so is illegal and it makes it difficult for the victim to become compensated for damages.

How to Become Compensated for a Hit and Run

If you were the victim of a hit and run accident, it can be difficult to get compensation, but it’s not impossible.

Drivers can become compensated if they have uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist coverage on their policy. This is a type of supplemental insurance drivers can purchase. It is designed to cover people who were injured in an accident by an uninsured driver or a driver who doesn’t have enough coverage on their policy to cover the accident. It can also provide coverage for hit and run victims.

In Florida, victims can get coverage without proving the other vehicle made contact with their car. They only need to prove that the other vehicle caused the accident.

Another option is to make a police report about the hit and run. If the police can locate the hit and run driver, the victim may be able to file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver and become compensated that way.

Penalties for Leaving the Scene in the State of Florida

In addition to owing damages on the accident, if a driver leaves the scene of a hit and run, he may be facing other penalties. Here are the penalties he may be facing according to Florida law:

  • If the accident resulted in injuries, the offense is considered a third-degree penalty that is punishable by 5 years in prison, 5 years probation, or a $5000 fine.
  • If the accident resulted in a death, it is considered a first-degree felony which is punishable by 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. If it was found the driver was driving under the influence, he will also get a mandatory prison sentence of two years.
  • If the hit and run caused property damage, it is seen as a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
  • In cases where an injury or death occurred, the license of the driver will also be revoked.

Finding a Lawyer for Your Hit and Run Accident

If you were involved in a hit and run accident, a lawyer can help you get the compensation you deserve. They can find ways for you to get coverage for your damages, even if the at-fault parties cannot be found.

If you are looking for a lawyer in the Orlando, FL area, Just Call Moe! 

Moe DeWitt has years of experience in a car accident and personal injury law. They are known for their aggressive representation, their sense of transparency, and their winning reputation. They will fight tirelessly to see to it that justice is served.  

Fleeing from the scene of an accident is a scummy thing to do. Don’t let at-fault drivers get away with it. Just Call Moe to get the compensation you deserve.

Just Call Moe Logo

We are here for you 24/7